In the News

November 24th, 2015

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Turkish F-16s Shoot Down Russian Fighter Jet Near Syria Border (FOX) http://www.foxnews.com/world/2015/11/24/turkish-f-16-shoots-down-russian-fighter-jet-near-syria-border/ Canada to Announce Plan to Resettle 25,000 Refugees Tuesday (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/canada-announce-plan-resettle-25000-refugees-tuesday-35390685 US Issues Travel Warning in Wake of Attacks (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/us-issues-travel-warning-in-wake-of-attacks/2015/11/24/fcbf0090-9275-11e5-befa-99ceebcbb272_story.html Four More Gmail Labs Features You Should Be Using (PC World) http://www.pcworld.com/article/3004152/software-productivity/4-more-gmail-labs-features-you-should-be-using.html Ministry Hopes to Serve All Those in Need (FOX) http://wfxl.com/news/local/ministry-hopes-to-serve-all-those-in-need

Read More

November 24th, 2015

Monday, November 23, 2015

From Umbrellas to Ballots (The Wall Street Journal) http://www.wsj.com/articles/from-umbrellas-to-ballots-1448327145 Best Black Friday Deals at Best Buy (Kiplinger) http://www.kiplinger.com/article/spending/T050-C011-S001-best-black-friday-deals-at-best-buy-2015.html Star Wars: Carrie Fisher on the Importance of Princess Leia Aging (TIME) http://time.com/4124142/princess-leia-age/ Cool NASA Images Reveal Day the Life of Pluto (FOX) http://www.foxnews.com/science/2015/11/23/cool-nasa-images-reveal-day-in-life-pluto.html Firefighter Who Received Face Transplant Smiles (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/WNT/video/firefighter-received-face-transplant-smiles-35381162

Read More

November 20th, 2015

Friday, November 20, 2015

Mali Hotel Attack Leaves Dozens Dead; Siege Appears Near End (NY Times) http://www.nytimes.com/2015/11/21/world/africa/mali-hotel-attack-radisson.html?_r=0 France ‘At War’ Fears the Future (CNN) http://www.cnn.com/2015/11/20/europe/paris-attacks-fear-for-the-future/?sr=google_news Wall Street on Track for Best Week in Over a Month (Reuters) http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/11/20/us-markets-stocks-idUSKCN0T91IY20151120#rtDxezBljorP5qFc.97 This Parasitic Worm Appears to Boost Female Fertility (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/to-your-health/wp/2015/11/20/this-parasitic-worm-appears-to-boost-female-fertility/ This Diet Upends Everything We Thought We Knew About ‘Healthy’ Food [...]

Read More

November 19th, 2015

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Top Suspects in Paris Attacks, Abdelhamid Abaaoud, Confirmed Dead (New York Times) http://www.nytimes.com/2015/11/20/world/europe/paris-attacks.html?_r=0 More Mexican Immigrants Leaving US Than Entering, Report Finds (New York Times) http://www.nytimes.com/2015/11/20/us/more-mexican-immigrants-leaving-us-than-entering-report-finds.html Hacker Vigilante Group Anonymous Ramps Up Fight Against ISIS Online (CBS) http://www.cbsnews.com/news/hacker-group-anonymous-ramps-up-cyber-attacks-on-isis-following-paris-attacks/ Dorsey’s Square Jumps in Market Debut, Offering Hope to Start-Ups (Reuters) http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/11/19/us-square-us-ipo-idUSKCN0T824Z20151119#itHJEvZvLyTMR3ei.97 Disturbing Trends in Prostate Cancer [...]

Read More

November 18th, 2015

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

2 Die as French Police Seek Paris Attacks Suspect (New York Times) http://www.nytimes.com/2015/11/19/world/europe/paris-attacks.html?_r=0 Two US to Paris Air France Flights Diverted Due to Threats (USA Today) http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2015/11/17/reports-two-air-france-flights-diverted/75970348/ Everything to Know About Amazons Black Friday Deals (TIME) http://time.com/4117961/amazon-black-friday-deals-2015/ US Housing Starts to Fall to 7-Month Low (The Economic Times) http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/international/business/us-housing-starts-fall-to-7-month-low-permits-rise/articleshow/49833519.cms Three Cups of Coffee a Day [...]

Read More

November 17th, 2015

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Paris Attacks: France Hits Islamic State with New Airstrikes (Los Angeles Times) http://www.latimes.com/world/middleeast/la-fg-paris-attacks-20151117-story.html Russia Says Bomb Downed Plane in Egypt and Intensifies Attacks on ISIS (New York Times) http://www.nytimes.com/2015/11/18/world/europe/russia-plane-crash-bomb.html?_r=0 Paris Attacks: Anonymous Begins Leaking Details of Suspected ISIS Accounts (TOI) http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/tech/tech-news/Paris-attacks-Anonymous-begins-leaking-details-of-suspected-ISIS-accounts/articleshow/49819014.cms Groundbreaking Same Sex Marriage in Ireland (CNN) http://www.cnn.com/2015/11/17/world/ireland-same-sex-marriage/index.html Rising US Consumer Prices Further Support [...]

Read More

November 16th, 2015

Monday, November 16, 2015

Police Raids in France and Belgium Seek Paris Attack Suspects (New York Times) http://www.nytimes.com/2015/11/17/world/europe/paris-terror-attack.html?_r=0 World Leaders Vow to Step Up Anti-Terrorist Efforts After Paris (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/Politics/wireStory/world-leaders-pressed-response-paris-attacks-35224961 Anonymous Launches ‘Biggest Operation’ Against ISIS in Response to Paris Attacks (TIME) http://abcnews.go.com/Politics/wireStory/world-leaders-pressed-response-paris-attacks-35224961 The Best Days for Holiday Shopping (Click2Houston) http://www.click2houston.com/news/the-best-days-for-holiday-shopping/36472724 Autism Rates Among Americans Rising, Says Survey: What [...]

Read More

November 13th, 2015

Friday, November 13, 2015

‘Jihadi John’ Targeted by US Drone Strike in Syria (USA Today) http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/world/2015/11/13/jihadi-john-targeted-us-drone-strike/75697890/ ISIS ‘Releases New Video’ Threatening Russia (TIME) http://time.com/4111221/isis-russia-video-is-isil/ After Budget Deal’s Surprise Cuts, Can Boomers Really Count on Social Security? (Forbes) http://www.forbes.com/sites/janetnovack/2015/11/12/after-budget-deals-surprise-cuts-can-boomers-really-count-on-social-security/ Meet the Wild Animals Who Put Their Partners First (Phys.org) http://phys.org/news/2015-11-wild-animals-partners-dont.html Uterus Transplants to Begin in US to Help Fight Infertility [...]

Read More

November 11th, 2015

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Veterans Day: 50 Restaurant, Retail, and Entertainment Freebees for Vets and Active Military (CSM) http://www.csmonitor.com/Business/Saving-Money/2015/1111/Veterans-Day-50-restaurant-retail-and-entertainment-freebies-for-vets-and-active-military A Worker Campaign  is Shifting the 2016 Debate Around the Minimum Wage (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2015/11/11/a-worker-campaign-is-shifting-the-2016-debate-around-the-minimum-wage/ Firm: 7 Associates Among 9 Believed Dead in Ohio Plane Crash (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/firm-associates-believed-dead-ohio-plane-crash-35123004 A Teen Won $400K for His Video Explaining Special Relativity (Mother Board) http://motherboard.vice.com/read/a-teen-won-400k-for-his-video-explaining-special-relativity [...]

Read More

November 10th, 2015

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Missouri Hunger Strike (ABC News) http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/video/missouri-hunger-strike-student-jonathan-butler-speaks-35094963 Russia Rejects Sports Doping Allegations (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/olympics/russia-rejects-sports-doping-allegations-as-groundless/2015/11/10/aac4ee6e-87a1-11e5-be39-0034bb576eee_story.html Volkswagen Diesel Owners to Get $1000 in Gift Cards (The Hindu) http://www.thehindu.com/business/Industry/volkswagen-diesel-owners-to-get-1000-in-gift-cards-and-vouchers/article7864315.ece?w=alauto World in Uncharted Territory as Greenhouse Gases Hit New High (DAWN) http://www.dawn.com/news/1218690/world-in-uncharted-territory-as-greenhouse-gases-hit-new-high-un Does BBQ Really Increase Your Cancer Risk? (BABW) http://www.babwnews.com/2015/11/does-bbq-really-increase-your-cancer-risk/

Read More