In the News

December 10th, 2015

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Connecticut to Ban Gun Sales by Those on No-Fly List (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/connecticut-ban-gun-sales-fly-list-35697329 Scotland Cuts Ties with Donald Trump (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2015/12/10/scotland-cuts-ties-with-donald-trump-he-says-it-should-be-thanking-me-instead/ Google Makes It Easier to Search for Files Saved on Drive (PC) http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2496380,00.asp These are the Disagreements Holding Up Paris Climate Change Talks (TIME) http://time.com/4144581/cop-21-paris-climate-change/ Happiness Won’t Help You Live Longer, Study Finds (Huffington Post) [...]

Read More

December 9th, 2015

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Netanyahu to Meet Donald Trump in Israel This Month (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/middle_east/netanyahu-to-meet-donald-trump-in-israel-this-month/2015/12/09/59601348-9e74-11e5-a3c5-c77f2cc5a43c_story.html Dozens Killed, Wounded in Taliban Attack on Afghan Airport (Reuters) http://in.reuters.com/article/afghanistan-taliban-airport-idINKBN0TS0BL20151209 These Are the 50 Best Places to Work (TIME) http://time.com/4142544/best-places-to-work-2016/ A Siri Remote App for Apple TV is Coming Next Year (The Verge) http://www.theverge.com/2015/12/9/9878366/siri-remote-app-apple-tv-2016 US Life Expectancy is Flat for Third Straight Year [...]

Read More

December 8th, 2015

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

The World Reacts to Trump’s Proposed Ban on Muslims Entering US (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/the-world-reacts-to-trumps-proposed-ban-on-muslims-entering-us/2015/12/08/50eea1dc-9d4a-11e5-9ad2-568d814bbf3b_story.html New Details on Suspects in San Bernardino Terror Attack (FOX) http://www.foxnews.com/us/2015/12/08/new-details-on-suspects-in-san-bernardino-terror-attack/ Can Putin Bomb His Way Out of Sanctions? (The Atlantic) http://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2015/12/putin-russia-sanctions-syria-ukraine/419265/ ‘Red Alert’: On 1st Day of Smog Controls, Bejingers Adapt, Debate Prospect of Change (LA Times) http://www.latimes.com/world/asia/la-fg-china-smog-red-alert-20151208-story.html Groundbreaking New Care [...]

Read More

December 7th, 2015

Monday, November 7, 2015

Supreme Court Won’t Hear Challenge to City’s Assault Weapons Ban (USA Today) http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2015/12/07/supreme-court-guns-assault-weapons-semiautomatic-ban/73817344/ Will Any of Obama’s ISIS Proposals Succeed (CNN) http://www.cnn.com/2015/12/07/politics/obama-speech-isis-visas-guns/index.html FBI: Both San Bernardino Attackers ‘Were Radicalized and Have Been for Quite Some Time’ (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-nation/wp/2015/12/07/san-bernardino-officials-say-they-are-trying-to-resume-normal-business-after-shooting/ New Data Suggest Period of Soaring Global Emissions May Have Peaked (New York Times) http://www.nytimes.com/2015/12/08/science/carbon-emissions-decline-peak-climate-change.html?_r=0 Pediatricians Group [...]

Read More

December 4th, 2015

Friday, December 4, 2015

Police Face Unanswered Questions in San Bernardino Shooting (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/US/san-bernardino-shooting-investigation-ongoing/story?id=35573368 China Offers $60 Billion in Loans, Aid to Africa (VOA) http://www.voanews.com/content/chinas-xi-cheers-african-leaders-with-pledge-of-60-bin-development-aid/3087434.html Paris Bombing Suspect Traced to Budapest (Mercury News) http://www.mercurynews.com/ci_29200493/paris-bombing-suspect-traced-budapest Scientists Detect Mysterious Radio Pulse From Deep Space (CSM) http://www.csmonitor.com/Science/2015/1203/Scientists-detect-mysterious-radio-pulse-from-deep-space.-What-is-it Pesticide Exposure Linked to Weaker Breaths in Children (NDTV) http://www.ndtv.com/health/pesticide-exposure-linked-to-weaker-breaths-in-children-1251014

Read More

December 3rd, 2015

Thursday, December 3, 2015

San Bernardino Shooting Investigators Seek Clues to Motive (New York Times) http://www.nytimes.com/2015/12/04/us/san-bernardino-shooting.html?_r=0 Staggering Stats: There Have Been More Mass Shootings Than Days This Year (NBC) http://www.nbcnews.com/storyline/san-bernardino-shooting/staggering-stats-there-have-been-more-mass-shootings-days-year-n473436 What Zuckerberg is Worth Without 99% of His Fortune (Bloomberg) http://www.bloomberg.com/news/videos/2015-12-03/what-s-zuckerberg-worth-without-99-of-his-fortune- Uber Makes It Easier to Spot Your Ride (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/uber-makes-easier-spot-ride/story?id=35553004 New Substance is Harder Than Diamond, Scientists Say [...]

Read More

December 2nd, 2015

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Concern Over E. Coli Outbreak Leads to Celery Recall a Major Grocery Stores (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/US/fda-celery-recall-expanded-major-grocery-stores/story?id=35526676 Taliban Leader Mullah Mansour Wounded in Shootout (Reuters) http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/12/02/us-afghanistan-taliban-idUSKBN0TL1XV20151202 AAA Says Thanksgiving Gas Prices Hit 7 Year Low (Clarksville Online) http://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2015/12/02/329029/ Can Christmas Lights Really Slow Your Wi-Fi? (NBC) http://www.nbcnews.com/tech/internet/can-christmas-lights-really-slow-your-wi-fi-n472791 New York City’s Attempt to Regulate Salt (Forbes) http://www.forbes.com/sites/phillempert/2015/12/02/new-york-citys-attempt-to-regulate-salt/

Read More

December 1st, 2015

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

US To Tighten Visa Waiver Programme After Paris Attacks (BBC) http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-34972383 German Cabinet Oks Military Mission Against IS in Syria (New York Times) http://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2015/12/01/world/europe/ap-eu-germany-syria.html?_r=0 Moment of Truth as Puerto Rico Faces Crucial Debt Payment (Reuters) http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/12/01/us-usa-puertorico-idUSKBN0TK4BH20151201 World AIDS Day: The State of HIV/AIDS in Canada (CanadaAM) http://canadaam.ctvnews.ca/world-aids-day-the-state-of-hiv-aids-in-canada-1.2681349 Historic Summit on Gene Editing (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/speaking-of-science/wp/2015/12/01/historic-summit-on-gene-editing-and-designer-babies-convenes-in-washington/

Read More

November 30th, 2015

Monday, November 30, 2015

Germany Mulls Sending Up To 1200 Troops on Syria Mission (ABC) http://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/germany-mulls-sending-1200-troops-syria-mission-35487168 Europe Has a Deal with Turkey, But Migrants Will Keep Coming (Economist) http://www.economist.com/news/europe/21679333-refugees-misery-still-drives-them-leave-europe-has-deal-turkey-migrants-will-keep Pope Francis Visits Mosque (CNN) http://www.cnn.com/2015/11/30/africa/africa-pope-francis-trip/ Good Grief: 50 Things About ‘A Charlie Brown Christmas’ (USA Today) http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/tv/2015/11/30/good-grief-50-things-charlie-brown-christmas/76433496/ Testosterone Treatment May Benefit Diabetic Men (Zee News) http://zeenews.india.com/news/health/health-news/testosterone-treatment-may-benefit-diabetic-men_1828485.html

Read More

November 25th, 2015

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Obama Tells Americans Homeland is Safe as Millions Set Off on Thanksgiving Travel (Reuters) http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/11/25/us-usa-thanksgiving-security-idUSKBN0TE28220151125#ve8gIv8p5MAXUf6s.97 Police Search for Mother After Baby Left in Nativity Manger (WP) https://www.washingtonpost.com/national/religion/police-newborn-left-in-christmas-nativity-manger-at-church/2015/11/24/b59c6564-930a-11e5-befa-99ceebcbb272_story.html Black Friday: Top Camera Deals at Best Buy (HNGN) http://www.hngn.com/articles/153907/20151125/black-friday-2015-top-camera-deals-at-best-buy.htm Online Sales Spike Before Black Friday (USA Today) http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/2015/11/25/online-sales-already-spiking-leading-into-black-friday/76369842/ 8 Ways to Trip Fat from Your 4500-Calorie Thanksgiving [...]

Read More